Bill Allegre, the only incumbent on the Ottawa school board portion of the ballot, will retain his seat. Allegre collected 953 votes to win the school board race Tuesday night.

Lynda Alderman received 894 votes and Tim Catlin earned 584 votes to join incumbent Allegre in claiming the three open seats on the school board.

Candidate Russ Wilson waited in the hallway in front of the Franklin County Clerk’s Office at the county courthouse, 315 S. Main St., Ottawa, to catch a glimpse of the giant board where Janet Paddock, county clerk, was tallying the results. Shortly after 8:30 p.m., Paddock wrote that all precincts had reported, and a disappointed Wilson grimaced slightly. He had finished in fourth place with 394 votes, followed by Richard Jackson with 389 votes and Norman Wooge with 246 votes.

But Wilson remained upbeat after talking with his wife in the hallway.

“I thought it was a pretty good turnout, and I was glad to see that,” Wilson said. “I thought all the candidates were good and would do a good job, no matter who the voters elected. I think we all wanted to do what was best for the district.”

Board terms are for four years.

Incumbents Brandon Jones and Marge Stevens did not seek re-election. Stevens has served on the board since 2001, while Jones joined the board in 2009. The board appointed Allegre in March 2012 to serve the remainder of the term vacated by former board member Darrell Bourque, who died in February 2012. Allegre previously had served on the school board for six years, ending in 2005, before rejoining the board last year.

Results are unofficial until the Franklin County Board of Commissioners canvasses the votes Monday.