Jeanne Stroh made her debut as superintendent of Ottawa schools during the board of educationís brief reorganizational meeting Monday night for the new 2013-2014 school year, which kicked off July 1.

The 30-minute board meeting primarily took care of such housekeeping items as selecting a new president and vice president of the board and assigning board members and school administrators to various committees and functions, adopting policies and setting fees.

The board also reappointed Teri George as the districtís treasurer and KPERS (Kansas Public Employees Retirement System) agent. Board member Dennis George, Teri Georgeís husband, opted to recuse himself from the vote.

The board selected David White as its president. He succeeds outgoing President Susan Ward, who remains on the board. The board appointed member Bill Allegre to be its vice president. He succeeds White.

On June 10, the school board voted 7-0 to ratify a two-year contract with Stroh, which began July 1 and expires June 30, 2015.

Stroh, 53, was serving as assistant superintendent of Hutchinson schools before accepting the position with Ottawa. She has a doctorate of education and a masterís degree in education from Kansas State University.

Stroh succeeds Dean Katt, who resigned March 1.

The school board also voted to keep its meeting schedule the same for the 2013-2014 school year. The board meets 7 p.m. the second and fourth Mondays of each month in the board meeting room at the Ottawa school district office, 1404 S. Ash St., Ottawa.