The Franklin County Conservation District’s awards program is sponsored by the Kansas Bankers Association.

Keri Harris, conservation district manager, said the Bankers Award program, which has been part of the Franklin County annual meeting since 1945, is an integral part of the success of conservation.

“Bankers Award program is designed to stimulate a greater interest in conservation of agriculture and natural resources of Kansas by giving recognition to those farmers and landowners who have made outstanding progress of practicing conservation on their farm.” Harris said. “Each year over 200 Kansas producers and landowners are recognized through this program across the state through the 105 conservation districts.”

Harris said the KBA works with Kansas State University Research and Extension and the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks throughout the state to sponsor six award categories: energy conservation, water quality, water conservation, soil conservation, windbreaks and wildlife habitat.

Mike Skidmore, Goppert State Service Bank, which is one of the sponsors of the award, said the state's farmers are dedicated to better their properties.

“The continued work and dedication of our award winners each year provide the example of conservation practices that we all need to follow,” he said. “The land is our long term asset and proper maintenance of it will help determine our future success and the successful opportunities of the next generation.”

Harris said Franklin County has a long tradition of excellence and one that will continue for many more years to come.