Ottawa High School’s summer driver education course will open for registration on Wednesday, according to a news release.
Enrollment is set for 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. in the middle school workshop with Mark Laws, Evan Shaffer and Wendy Dickinson. Parents are welcome to be in attendance, but cannot enroll the student because of Kansas law, the release said. All students are required to fill out the Kansas Driver’s Education 99 Form in their own handwriting. Students must be 14 years old or have their 14th birthday no later than May 30, 2018. The course fee is $150 for Ottawa district students and $275 for out-of-district students.
An eye test will be required if the student does not have an Instruction Permit so bring glasses or contacts if needed, the release said. Students will register for a classroom time slot and practice driving time slot.
Students must attend all scheduled classroom and driving sessions and behave in a manner that allows learning to take place in a safe environment, the release said. Students must complete all of the requirements in the classroom phase and driving phase of the course and abide by all driving laws.
Classroom work begins May 30 at the OMS vocal music room. The classroom work will take 10 to 12 days, depending upon attendance, completion of work and conduct.
For driving time, students will meet in the west middle school parking lot at their assigned time. The length of time to complete the driving requirements depends upon the student’s progress, the release said.
For questions or more information, call OHS at (785) 229-8020 or email firstname.lastname@example.org