Rep. Scott Schwab held a steady frontrunner position in a field of five Republican secretary of state candidates to walk away with the nomination. 

Dennis Taylor and Randy Duncan put up a fight, each taking about 22 percent of the vote. Schwab held his front-running position with 36 percent. Candidate Keith Esau had about 9 percent of the vote, while Craig McCullah pulled in about 12 percent of the votes.

Taylor said he came into the race late and was both a little disappointed and a little relieved by the end result. Schwab significantly outspent the other candidates, he added.

According to secretary of state campaign finance filings, Schwab spent just over $105,000 on his campaign as of July 30. Taylor spent nearly $72,000, while Duncan spent about $3,100.

Schwab will face Democrat Brian McClendon in the primary, who walked away with the nomination unopposed. 

The Republican race for the Kansas insurance commissioner was another relatively close one throughout the evening, with Sen. Vicki Schmidt in the lead. She held tight to about 52 percent of the vote to Clark Shultz's 48 percent. Even at 11 p.m., Schmidt was unwilling to call the race, as Johnson County was late to post votes and just under 700 precincts were still out.

If she wins, Schmidt will face Democrat Nathaniel McLaughlin in the primary.

In other statewide offices, Kansans will vote in the primary for either Republican Jake LaTurner or Democrat Marci Francisco for the position of state treasurer.

Current Attorney General Derek Schmidt, a Republican, will fight to retain his position against Democrat Sarah Swain in the primary.