Monday, December 22, 2014

Commissioners shuffle county leadership roles

By CRYSTAL HERBER, Herald Staff Writer | 1/14/2013

Newly elected commissioners assumed their posts Monday, while others took on new positions.

The annual reorganization meeting Monday included the selection of a chair and vice chair of the Franklin County Board of Commissioners, as well as appointments to various committees throughout the county. Commissioner Steve Harris will step up as the new chair of the board, while Colton Waymire remains the vice chair, both having received unanimous votes.

Many of the committee appointments remained the same through the reorganization. Commissioner Don Stottlemire will remain on the Lake Region  Resource Conservation and Development board. Waymire will retain his position on the Ransom Memorial Hospital board and the Neighborhood Revitalization board. Harris keeps his seat on the East Central Kansas Economic Opportunity Corp. and adds the Franklin County Development Council board. Newly elected Rick Howard will serve on the East Central Kansas Area Agency on Aging and the Wellsville Chamber of Commerce boards. Newly elected Roy Dunn was appointed to the Ottawa Area Chamber of Commerce board.

The board voted unanimously to continue scheduling meetings for 8:30 a.m. Wednesdays, with study sessions at 8:30 a.m. the first and third Mondays of the month. The first official meeting of the newly organized board is planned for 8:30 a.m. Wednesday in commission chambers, 1428 S. Main St., Ottawa.

comments powered by Disqus