Your Turn
A special election is set for June 2 on the issue of a 1-cent sales tax to help fund economic development, city services and more. The proposed tax would replace an existing half-cent sales tax set to expire. Would you support this effort?

  • Yes.
  • No.
  • I don't know.

Suggest a poll topic


Send your events to
The Herald at

The Herald

The Herald
for subscribers

Recent Herald Special Sections

Latest Herald
Special Section

The Shopper

The Shopper

Monday, January 14, 2013 9:31 PM

Photo by Matt Bristow/The Ottawa Herald

Judge Thomas Sachse, right, swears in Franklin County elected officials, including Roy Dunn, Jeff Curry, Sue McCay, Janet Paddock, Steve Hunting and Rick Howard, Monday in the commission chambers at the Franklin County Office Annex, 1428 S. Main St., Ottawa.

County gets voter reboot

By CRYSTAL HERBER, Herald Staff Writer

It’s official.

The annual Franklin County reorganization meeting Monday prompted a changing of the guard for some positions and more of the same for others. Roy Dunn, Rick Howard, Janet Paddock, Sue McCay, Jeff Curry and Stephen Hunting all were sworn in as elected county officials by Judge Thomas Sachse of Franklin County District Court as about 50 residents and county employees looked on.

Login to read more.

E-mail to a friend | Print Text |
Enjoy the convenience of home delivery of The Ottawa Herald.