At their first regular meeting of the year Wednesday, Franklin County commissioners recognized long-serving employees of the county. Officials reported the employees comprise more than 280 cumulative years of experience with the county. Employees recognized included:

30 years

• Loren Evans, A EMT, Emergency Medical Services Department

• Stephen Lunger, lieutenant colonel, Sheriff’s Office

25 years

• Jeff Welton, road & bridge superintendent, Public Works

20 years

• Toni Schmidt, office manager, Sheriff’s Office

15 years

• Orvel Broce, heavy equipment operator II, Public Works Department

• Rodney Crane, mechanic II, Public Works Department

• Timothy Hough, juvenile detention officer, Juvenile Services

• Mary “Midge” Ransom, director, Health Department

10 years

• Ryan Fine, road & bridge foreman, Public Works Department

• Kiel Lasswell, lieutenant, Adult Detention Center

• Susanne Sprinkle, clerk III, Sheriff’s Office

• Emily Stanley, dispatcher II, Emergency Communications Department

• Jesse Vega, sergeant, Sheriff’s Office

5 years

• Derek Brown, county administrator/counselor, Administration/Commission Departments

• Priscilla Carter, clerk III, Motor Vehicles/Treasurer’s Office

• Kelsey Conner, dispatcher II, Emergency Communications Department

• John Folks, light equipment operator, Public Works Department

• Nicholas Grey, deputy sheriff, Sheriff’s Office

• Stephanie Newell, clerk III, Community Corrections

• Lacey Russell, clerk II, Health Department

• Jason Ryburn, paramedic, Emergency Medical Services Department

• Noel Young, legal assistant II, County Attorney’s Office

In other news, the county:

• Authorized early repayment of debt by Franklin County Mental Health Clinic, Inc.

• Approved three rezoning requests.

• Approved annual software support renewals for the county’s Information Technology system.

The county is slated to meet at 8:30 a.m. Monday for a reorganization meeting, and 8:30 a.m. Wednesday for its regular meeting.