The Ottawa University men’s volleyball team is set to open its 2020 campaign Tuesday at home against Missouri Valley.

This will be the 10th meeting between the two schools with Missouri Valley leading the series, 5-4. Ottawa is 3-2 in the past five matches.

The OU men’s volleyball program enters its fifth year as a NAIA program. In the past four years, Ottawa is 51-66 overall and has two NAIA National Invitational appearances, five AVCA All-Americans, 14 all-conference performers and 14 NAIA Player of the Week selections.

The 2020 team is under first-year head coach Beau Barnthson, who comes to Ottawa from Western Colorado University. He coached outside hitters and primary passers. Before coaching at WCU, Barnthson spent the 2016 and 2017 seasons as an assistant coach at Newman University. He served as recruiting coordinator, position coach for outside hitters and primary passers, as well as helped with game plan strategy and practice planning.

The Braves enter 2020 ranked No. 10 in the NAIA Men’s Volleyball Coaches Poll.

Barnthson attended Park University, where he was an outside hitter for the Pirate volleyball team. He helped lead the Pirates to two Mid-America Men’s Volleyball Intercollegiate Conference (MAMVIC) championships, and two trips to the NAIA Men’s Volleyball National Invitational Tournament. Barnthson was second on the team in service aces in 2010. He graduated in May 2010 with a degree in elementary education.

The Braves have 12 players on the roster for 2020 with two seniors, seven juniors, one sophomore, and two freshmen. Ottawa’s returners are second team all-conference selection Ashan Jordan, honorable mention all-conference selection Troy Lance, Jacob Frederick, Brennan Hagar, Noah Mayeda, and Abraham Romero. The newcomers are Kevin Davidson, William Her, Alex Taylor, Tyler Gardenhire, Aseah Thomas and Julio Peregrino.

Frederick (S) and Lance (MB) are the only seniors on the squad. The juniors include, Taylor (MB), Jordan (OH), Gardenhire (OH), Thomas (OH), Peregrino (OH), Mayeda (RS), and Romero (RS). The lone sophomore is Hagar (OH). The freshmen are Davidson (L/DS) and Her (L/DS).