Ottawa High School hosts its home invitational today — its third wrestling tournament of the season.

Teams set to compete starting 9 a.m. in the OHS gym are Anderson County, Baldwin, Bonner Springs, El Dorado, Eudora, Holton, Osawatomie, Piper, Pittsburg, Praire View and Highland Park.

Cyclone wrestlers are coming off a home competition from Thursday where Ottawa clipped Tonganoxie 40-39 and fell to Santa Fe Trail 39-33 in a triangular. Brett Ferguson, senior, in the 182-pound weight division and Collin Creach, freshman, in the 126-weight division won both of their head-to-head matchups. Daidrien Aho went 1-0, beating Santa Fe Trail’s Dakota Garrison in the 170-weight division.

Ottawa’s win over Tonganoxie came down to the final match between heavyweights Jared Feruson (OHS) and Jacob Miller (THS) in the 285-weight division. The Cyclone sideline erupted when Ferguson pinned Miller at the five-minute mark, giving OHS the win.


Ottawa 40, Tonganoxie 39

106 - Greyson Sonntag (THS) over Robert Crooks (OHS) by fall

113 - Dustin Robinson (THS) over Zack Cunningham (OHS) by fall

120 - Aaron Quillen (OHS) wins by forfeit

126 - Collin Creach (OHS) over Blake Sparks (THS) by fall

132 - Jonah Stephens (THS) over Kael Lane (OHS) by fall

138 - Josiah Stephens (THS) over Justine Kennington (OHS) by fall

145 - Payton Lee (OHS) wins by forfeit

152 - Korbin Riedel (THS) wins by forfeit

160 - Jesse Collier (THS) over Austin Spanger (OHS) 22-15 decision

170 - Daidrien Aho (OHS) wins by forfeit

182 - Tucker Mace (OHS) over Kolton McCrary (THS) by technical fall

195 - Brett Ferguson (OHS) over Dawson Bennet (THS) by fall

220 - Brent Carey (THS) over Antonio Espinosa (OHS) by fall

285 - Jared Ferguson (OHS) over Jacob Miller (THS) by fall

Santa Fe Trail 39, Ottawa 33

106 - Zack Cunningham (OHS) over Ian Meisbach (SFT) by fall

113 - Robert Crooks (OHS) over Alex Conus (SFT) by fall

120 - Aaron Quillen wins by forfeit

126 - Collin Creach (OHS) over Christian Rowe (SFT) 5-0 decision

132 - Kael Lane (OHS) wins by forfeit

138 - Gus Burterakos (SFT) over Justine Kennington (OHS) by fall

145 - Bryce Isabell (SFT) over Payton Lee (OHS) 12-11 decision

152 - Isaac Hook (SFT) over Brandon Carlson (OHS) by fall

160 - Caleb Jeanneret (SFT) wins by forfeit

170 - Daidrien Aho (OHS) over Dakota Garrison (SFT) 9-8 decision

182 - Stephen Roberts (SFT) over Tucker Mace (OHS) by fall

195 - Brett Ferguson (OHS) over Will Rhoades (SFT) 10-5 decision

220 - Caleb Harmes (SFT) over Antonio Espinoas (OHS) by fall

285 - Jason Prettyman (SFT) over Jared Ferguson (OHS) by fall