Senior Kansas State football center Adam Holtorf received some national recognition on Friday, earning a spot on the Rimington Trophy Preseason Watch List for the second straight year.

The Rimington Trophy is awarded each year to the nation's top center, as voted on by an award committee.

Holtorf, who hails from Seward, Neb., has started the last 25 consecutive games at center for K-State. He helped the Wildcats finish top three in the Big 12 for rushing yards per game each of the past two seasons, including last year's squad that averaged 182.6 rushing yards. In 2017, the Wildcats posted the seventh-best rushing total in school history with 2,584 yards on the season, capped by 344 yards in the Wildcats' Cactus Bowl victory over UCLA. Pro Football Focus also has Holtorf as the top returning interior offensive lineman in the Big 12 in terms of quarterback pressure rate at 1.1 percent, as well.

The senior lineman was a 2018 First Team Academic All-American and made the First Team Academic All-Big 12 team for a second straight year that season, as well. He has already earned his bachelor's degree in agribusiness, posting a 4.0 GPA.

With his inclusion on the Rimington list this year, it marks the 10th time in the 20-year history of the award that a K-State player has been a candidate, though no K-State player has ever won the award. Past K-State finalists for the award include Nick Leckey in 2003 and B.J. Finney in 2014.

Other Big 12 centers to make the 2019 list include Iowa State sophomore Colin Newell, Oklahoma redshirt sophomore Creed Humphrey, Oklahoma State senior Johnny Wilson, TCU junior Kellton Hollins and Texas senior Zach Shackelford. Only one former Big 12 player — Nebraska's Dominic Raiola in 2000 — has won the award. West Virginia's Dan Mozes (2006) and TCU's Jake Kirkpatrick (2010) won the award prior to those schools joining the Big 12.

North Carolina State's Garrett Bradbury won the 2018 award. Bradbury, whose head coach at NC State was Shawnee native and former Kansas position coach Dave Doeren, was drafted by the Minnesota Vikings with the No. 18 pick in the 2019 NFL Draft this spring.

Holtorf and the Wildcats will open their first season under new coach Chris Klieman at 6 p.m. Aug. 31 at Bill Snyder Family Stadium in Manhattan. The game will be shown on ESPN+.